May the 4th be With You!

May the 4th is more than just Star Wars Day for me. On this day in 2020, when everything was shutdown because of Covid and since I had nothing better to do, I created this website and C.C. Winchester was born. I was very focused during that time and began seriously writing, again, well, because there was nothing else to do. I now have 3 short stories published and a book published in another genre under a different name. I was very productive at first, but over the past year, not so much.

So, I started fighting my demons again. You know, the ones who say you’ll never be a writer. And it turns out, their leader is my mom. When I was in seventh grade I knew I wanted to be a writer and I voiced that dream to my mother. Her response, “You can’t be a writer, you don’t know anything.”

I guess technically, you don’t know a ton by seventh grade, but I already had plenty of angst. We moved constantly. My mother had a revolving door of boyfriends. The boyfriends made the rules, so my siblings and I were often beaten because we hadn’t received the memo about the latest rule changes.

My mother has been gone now for 23 years, but her negative energy lives on within my very soul. I’ll never stop fighting though. Life truly does go on. There is much love and support in my life right now and the horror community is a big positive for me. I am especially thankful for Jill Girardi of Kandisha Press. If it weren’t for her publishing my first story, “The Trial of Jehenne de Brigue”, I would have probably given up. She is a true supporter of the genre, especially women and even old ladies like me, who arrived on the scene very late. But as they say, better late than never, right?

Take care everyone and Happy Star Wars Day!

P.S. If you’re so inclined, check out Don’t Break the Oath, part of the the women of horror series published by Kandisha Press and where you can find my little ditty, “The Trial of Jehenne de Brigue”!

Leave a comment